152:

A VIOLIN BY EMILE FRANÇAIS, PARIS, 1935

152: A VIOLIN BY EMILE FRANÇAIS, PARIS, 1935


ex-Yehudi Menuhin

Labeled, "Réplique faite pour Yehudi Menuhin de son Antonius Stradivarius 1733 par Emile Français Luthier du Conservatoire National de Musique Paris No 2 année 1934" and, "Similis sed Singularis."

Bearing the initials "YM" inlaid to the button.

Emile Français made this violin as an exact copy of the 1733 ‘Prince Khevenhüller’ Stradivari and presented it to Yehudi Menuhin on his nineteenth birthday. Interestingly, the original Stradivari was presented to Menuhin seven years earlier on his 12th birthday. In 1956 Menuhin gifted this violin to Paul Shapshak and in 1991 it was sold to David Sackson a violinist in the Phoenix String Quartet. For more information about Menuhin’s violins please read our Carteggio from 2016, as well as Jason Price's recent Carteggio feature.



 

LOB: 35.9 cm

  • Proforma Certificate: Tarisio, New York, NY (Oct 24 2022)
  • Letter: Yehudi Menuhin (photocopy) (Nov 26 1992)
  • Letter: Paul Shapshak (photocopy), New York, NY (Oct 5 1991)

View Documents



Ending time: Nov 17 at
2:06 PM New York / 7:06 PM London / 8:06 PM Berlin


BID HISTORY

RESERVE MET


Bidding closed

State Sales Tax may be due on this lot
Click here for more information

Ask a question about this lot

You must be logged in to ask a question about this lot. Click here to login.