136:

A VIOLIN BY ANTONIO STRADIVARI, CREMONA, c. 1714

136: A VIOLIN BY ANTONIO STRADIVARI, CREMONA, c. 1714


An important violin known as the 'da Vinci, ex Seidel'

Labeled, "Antonius Stradiuarius Cremonensis Faciebat Anno 1714."

The instrument

Its provenance

Toscha Seidel

The story behind the name


The opening bid on this lot will be $8,000,000.


REQUEST PRE-APPROVAL TO BID ON THIS LOT

 

LOB: 35.4 cm

  • Proforma Certificate: Tarisio, New York, NY (Jun 1 2022)
  • Dendrochronology report: Peter Ratcliff, London (Jan 14 2022) Dates the latest ring of both the bass and treble sides as 1693. Printed report available for purchase upon request.
  • Letter: W. E. Hill & Sons, London (Feb 21 1962)
  • Certificate: Erich Lachmann, Berlin (Sep 24 1950)
  • Certificate: Oswald A. Schilbach, New York, NY (Apr 22 1924)
  • Letter certificate: Emil Herrmann, New York, New York, NY (Apr 17 1924)
  • Certificate: Caressa & Français, Paris (May 10 1914)
  • Receipt: Chardon & Fils, Paris (Jul 9 1888)
  • Receipt: Chardon & Fils, Paris (Mar 10 1888)

View Documents



Ending time: Jun 9 at
3:15 PM New York / 8:15 PM London / 9:15 PM Berlin


BID HISTORY

RESERVE MET


Bidding closed

State Sales Tax may be due on this lot
Click here for more information

Ask a question about this lot

You must be logged in to ask a question about this lot. Click here to login.