184:

A VIOLIN, MILAN, c. 1758, ASCRIBED TO AND FROM THE CIRCLE OF GIOVANNI BATTISTA GUADAGNINI

184: A VIOLIN, MILAN, c. 1758, ASCRIBED TO AND FROM THE CIRCLE OF GIOVANNI BATTISTA GUADAGNINI


ex-Joseph Silverstein

Labeled, "Joannes Baptista Guadagnini Placentinus fecit Mediolani 1758."

Showing the hand of Guadagnini's Milanese contemporary, Carlo Ferdinando Landolfi. A highly interesting and historically important instrument from a transitional moment in Italian violinmaking history. The head possibly not original.

 

LOB: 35.5 cm

  • Dendrochronology report: Peter Ratcliff, London (Jun 24 2021) Dates the latest measured ring of the bass and treble side as 1749 and 1751, respectively. Printed report available for purchase upon request.
  • Letter: Joseph Silverstein, Boston, MA (Dec 12 1966)
  • Certificate: William Moennig & Son, Philadelphia, PA (Nov 18 1959) Ascribing the violin to Guadagnini in all parts.
  • Certificate: Rembert Wurlitzer, New York, NY (Jul 20 1956) Ascribing the violin to Guadagnini in all parts.
  • Letter: Rembert Wurlitzer, New York, NY (Jul 20 1956) Addressed to Bill Moennig Jr. and ascribing the violin to Guadagnini in all parts.

View Documents



Ending time: Nov 18 at
2:58 PM New York / 7:58 PM London / 8:58 PM Berlin


BID HISTORY

RESERVE MET


Bidding closed

State Sales Tax may be due on this lot
Click here for more information

Ask a question about this lot

You must be logged in to ask a question about this lot. Click here to login.