143:

A VIOLIN BY GIOVANNI BATTISTA GUADAGNINI, MILAN, 1751 ‡

143: A VIOLIN BY GIOVANNI BATTISTA GUADAGNINI, MILAN, 1751 ‡


ex - Jean Pierre Maurin

Bearing its original label, "Joannes Baptista Guadagnini Placentinus fecit Mediolani 1751."




Read Jason Price's Carteggio feature on this instrument. 

LOB: 35.2 cm

  • Dendrochronology report: Peter Ratcliff, London (Oct 6 2021) Dates the latest rings of both side as 1728. Printed report available for purchase upon request.
  • Proforma Certificate: Tarisio, Berlin (Oct 6 2021)
  • Certificate: Étienne Vatelot, Paris (Aug 26 1996)
  • Certificate: William Moennig & Son, Philadelphia, PA (Nov 9 1967)
  • Letter: Arthur Phillips Hill, London (Mar 30 1960)
  • Certificate: Emil Herrmann (Oct 30 1944)
  • Certificate: Rudolph Wurlitzer Co., Cincinnati, OH (May 7 1930)
  • Certificate: Caressa & Français, Paris (Dec 5 1917)

View Documents



Ending on Oct 25 at
3:06 PM Berlin / 2:06 PM London / 9:06 AM New York(7d 12h 39m remaining)


BID HISTORY

RESERVE MET


New bid of:
€1,100,000
Proxy bid:

★ WATCH ITEM

VAT symbols on Description:

Ω - TI - non-antique - 19% charged on the hammer
‡ - TI - antique - 19% charged on the hammer
† - Normal VAT rules - 19% charged on hammer and premium
No Symbol - Margin Scheme - 19% charged on the premium (except when exported within 3 months)

VAT refunds are available for export sales

Click here for more information

Ask a question about this lot

You must be logged in to ask a question about this lot. Click here to login.

Request a condition report for this lot

You must be logged in to request a condition report. Click here to login.